Diet · food · Health · Lifestyle · Vegan · Vegetarian

Vegan Diet, Day 9

I’ve really been trying to cut down on white breads, pasta, rice and sugar. I need to get some whole wheat couscous! I’ve got brown rice, whole wheat bread, whole grain cereal, oatmeal and sweet potatoes for my carbs – and white couscous.

I was proud of last nights dinner except there was no protein – I had brown rice cooked in vegetable broth and eggplant, zucchini, squash and mushrooms cooked in marinara sauce. I was expecting it to be bland and boring but it was actually pretty good! And healthy too!

 

I stepped on the scale this morning and was pretty excited to see that I lost another pound, so that’s 3 altogether! And overall, I just feel better!

I started the day off this morning pretty good with some oatmeal, chia seeds, dried cranberries and some brown sugar. It was yummy and if I didn’t work at 4am most mornings, I’d probably have this everyday! (Chia seeds are wonderful by the way, my new favorite thing to add to everything! Really good source of fiber too!)

I will write about the rest of today in tomorrow’s post!

10 thoughts on “Vegan Diet, Day 9

  1. I had never heard of chia seeds prior to your post so thanks for recommending! I just researched what they are and think I need to add some to my diet too. Now if I can just figure out where to buy them.

    Like

    1. I love putting them in smoothies or just mixing them into some water and drinking them! I think at lunch, I’m gonna add some to my leftover coucous and heat it up! And I love that they contain complete proteins and they help me to stay full longer so I’m not tempted to go browsing around for some snacks or eat something I shouldn’t like chips!

      Like

  2. I will definitely have to checkout Chia Seeds. I haven’t heard of them either but I’m headed to Whole Foods to find out more. Regarding your staying away from white carbs, I have struggled with that myself. A great substitute for pasta is Shiritake Tofu Noodles. Not exaclty like pasta, but a nice substitute. You can find them at Whole Foods, Publix or online.

    http://thebrokevegan.com

    Like

  3. I just saw the Chia seeds on a commercial this past week. They are actually the same ones used to make Chia pets! Who knew?

    What about quinoa? A little bit more protein than a pasta or a grain.

    Also, do you keep a food log? One that tracks your nutrients? Maybe even though you didn’t have a specific source of protein you still could have done a good job of getting some? I find them very useful, but they kind of take up some time. The only one I have actually used is Fitday.com, the free version. It doesn’t track simple carbs vs. complex carbs . . . at least I don’t think it does, but it does help with other nutrients.

    Continued thanks for sharing what you are learning on your journey.

    As you said in a reply back to one of my comments in one of your posts, you didn’t know you were sensitive to meat and dairy until you stopped. I tend to think that could be the case for a lot of us. I am actually more concerned with what goes INTO our dairy, our meat, and our food in general.

    Like

    1. Quinoa is something that I am wanting to try! I just keep forgetting to get it whenever I’m at the store. A food log is a good idea! Thanks for the suggestion!

      I am also worried about what goes in and on our foods as well, lately I’ve been doing most of my shopping at Trader Joe’s which only sells foods that have no artificial flavors, colors or preservatives; no genetically modified ingredients; no MSG; and no added Trans Fats. You’d think they would be expensive, but they are no more expensive than a regular grocery store, sometimes there prices are even better!

      Like

Leave a Reply

