food · Health · Vegan · Vegetarian

Vegan Diet, Day 18

One more physical benefit that I noticed was my fingernails are growing strong, even and fast! Which is a big change, they used to grow slowly and very uneven and they would break a lot. And the skin around my nails seems to be softer and not as dry, the skin around my nails and my cuticles used to crack and bleed because they were so dry, even if I put tons of lotion on all the time!

Onto the food…

I made a green smoothie yesterday. It had pineapple, banana, spinach, romaine lettuce, chia seeds, flax seed oil and almond milk. It would’ve been good if I didn’t put so much spinach and lettuce in, it was way overpowering and I couldn’t taste the banana or pineapple at all, which surprised me. Here is a picture, I love the color of these smoothies:

Lately, I’ve been pretty good at coming up with super quick pasta dishes that are really yummy and super easy! Lunch is only an hour and I go home and make this and do the dishes, make tea and still get back in time, that’s how easy it is! This one is penne pasta with tomatoes and spinach in a butter herb sauce (earth balance of course) and it was made yesterday, here is the picture:

Dinner last night was the same as a few nights ago when I made the rice with corn and avocado, you can find that post here. So I didn’t take a picture because it was nothing new.

Today I went home at lunch and made my man spaghetti with “meat” sauce. I took a few bites and it was so good! I used veggie sausage as the meat and just plain marinara with some added herbs. It didn’t take long at all to cook and my boyfriend actually came up with the idea to make sloppy joes out of the sauce, which is a super good idea since I didn’t know what to cook for dinner tonight and since it’s Friday, I like to make easy food. And I have to use up the rest of the sauce anyways! So you’ll see that post tomorrow. Here’s a picture of the pasta:

Have a good weekend everyone and I might post something tomorrow or maybe Monday. We’ll see! 😉

 

9 thoughts on “Vegan Diet, Day 18

  1. Wow! Looks delish–the pastas AND the smoothie. Although, knowing that it tasted a bit too spinach and lettuce-y turns me away, I can see how it could be good.

    Good for you! My nails are getting stronger and longer as well… Not that I’m necessarily eating super healthy, so really, this is an irrelevant mention.

    Like

    1. I make those smoothies all the time but usually just add a tiny bit of spinach and it’s fine but this time was just way too much! Haha

      Irrelevant mentions are okay, especially when it’s a good thing!

      Like

  2. Your green monster looks delicious! And do you know what it is that’s making your nails awesome? Mine could use some work, as I have to wash my hands a lot at work and it takes its toll…

    Like

Leave a Reply

