food · Lifestyle · Vegan · Vegetarian

Vegan Diet, Day 19-22

The past four days were pretty good, on Saturday we went out for a nice hike/walk – first real workout since I started my new diet. I was surprised to find that I had more endurance, I was able to ran farther and longer than before! I was very pleasantly surprised. I had this pre-workout smoothie for a little energy boost and I think it worked! It was a pineapple, banana smoothie made with almond milk, chia seeds and flax seed oil.

 

I was pretty pleased with my workout and I was definitely feeling it the next day!

This weekend, I also made sloppy joes using the pasta sauce from day 18 and they turned out really yummy! Here’s picture, you should try them, if you want the recipe, just ask! These were made using vegan meatballs that I crumbled and marinara sauce and some added herbs and spices.

 

And I made Beer Bread, it was just okay. I used wheat flour and I may have overcooked it because the crust was very hard and the wheat flavor was a little overpowering. Next time I’ll use white flour and lower the cooking time.

Last night for dinner I had some bird’s nests and kale, it was pretty delicious!

 

My boyfriend had some fish and kale but I didn’t take a picture of that cause this is a vegan blog! Soon I’ll be making these delicious little gems so keep an eye out for that post, coming soon!

Have a great week everyone, I’ll see you soon!

2 thoughts on “Vegan Diet, Day 19-22

  1. So funny that you post this, because I made beer bread this past weekend. And I wrote a post about it (but I think I will save it for one of those days I don’t know what to post about). I was thinking about trying wheat flour next time, but maybe not now that you say it is over powering. What kind of beer did you use? I would think a lighter beer might help make it not so wheaty. Plus herbs might help.

    I think now I will try a portion of wheat flour and not the entire thing.

    Thanks for the info! Oh, and roasted chickpeas. Great idea. Can’t wait to hear about your experience with them!

    Like

    1. I’m sure it would be really good with half wheat flour and half regular, that would be better and it probably would have been fine if I didn’t overcook it, but in my opinion, an hour was just way to long! I tried a little piece after 40 mins and it was perfect, but I thought that maybe the middle wasn’t done so I let it continue cooking. Next time, I’ll probably only cook it for 40 mins or cook it at a lower temp. Not sure, but I’ll be trying it again and again until it’s perfect! I used a light beer and the beer flavor in the bread was perfect, not to strong, but you could taste just a hint.

      Like

Leave a Reply

