Diet · food

Vegan Diet, Day 23-28 (with pictures!)

Well, tomorrow is day 30 of my Vegan Diet! I am pretty proud of myself that I made it this far! I do have a confession though, I ate a meatball today! It was good too 🙂

I’ve been thinking about what I’m going to do after the 30 days and I think that I will probably stay away from dairy, and eat meat occasionally. It has been hard for me to get enough protein everyday – mostly because I’m a picky eater and some fake meats kinda freak me out a little, not gonna lie. And I don’t like tofu. There are only a few fake meats that I can stand and I can’t eat them plain, they have to be in something or served with some kinda sauce or on a bun.

I think my body was mostly reacting to the dairy anyways and not the meat, but I guess we’ll find out. After eating meat a couple of times after NOT having it, we’ll see how my body really reacts. Who knows, I may just become a full-time vegan!

One thing I’ve picked up in the last week is working out 5 days a week for at least 30 mins each time. I used to jog a lot and when I was doing that, I was steadily losing weight and toning up, then things got busy and I’ll admit that I got a little lazy. When I quit running, I was able to go 1.5 miles and I know, that is not much, but for someone who never ran in her life, it was pretty good and felt amazing and it didn’t take long to get there. Well it’s been about 5 months since I’ve done any running and I was sad when I tried to run 1.5 miles and didn’t even get to a mile so that just motivated me even more to keep at it! I’m doing good so far. I forgot how good working out feels! You guys should try it 🙂

Anyways, here are some things that I’ve made lately…

Crispy Roasted Chickpeas – I added paprika, cumin, salt & pepper (they didn’t last long, yummy!)

I was craving something in a tortilla so I used two spinach tortillas and added hummus, avocado and some sautéed veggies. It was super good and easy to make, will definitely make again!

Something for lunch that I made at work – Sourdough bagel with hummus, avocado, tomato, onion, lettuce and pickles.

I’m really craving stir fry with rice, so I think that’s what’s for dinner tonight!

Oh yeah, and my birthday is coming up on the 3rd!

7 thoughts on “Vegan Diet, Day 23-28 (with pictures!)

  1. Thank you for the reminder about the chickpeas. I wanted to do that when I first saw them, and I forgot, then you reminded me and I forgot again. I think I have a can in my pantry and I will make them now.

    Protein is difficult for me to get too. I am not a huge fan of meat. I like it, but I can live without it. And I don’t like beans so I don’t know where else vegetarians, much less vegans get their protein. Just the thought of “fake” meat makes if unappetizing to me.

    Although you don’t need my encouragement, I would still like to congratulate you on your chosen journey. Yay you. I really loved your inventive way of making dinners.

    While I teach a cardio class three times a week, I had not been doing any strength training. I just started again and I, too was reminded of how good that feels.

    Thanks for sharing.

    Oh, for when the 3rd rolls around —– HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

    Like

    1. Thanks for the happy birthday! The chickpeas were really good, I am going to get some more today! I’ll probably pick up two cans since one can makes about enough for two people. I’m not really sure how to store them though, I don’t know if the need to be refrigerated or just stored in an air tight container. So we just ate them all 🙂

      Like

      1. I finally ended up making them. You can read about my little adventure on my blog. I linked to yours! I know you busy moving, but I thought I would let you know.

        I agree with your idea . . . .don’t know how to store them so eat them all. LOL!

        Like

  2. Congrats on the 1.5 miles! That’s impressive, and don’t let anybody tell you differently!

    I hate meat substitutes too!! and I try to limit my soy intake (so tofu isn’t a staple in my vegan kitchen). I’ve had a lot of success with whole grains that pack in the protein with lots of B vitamins, etc like millet, brown rice, and quinoa (most veggies you will cook these with will provide a “complete” protein). There are other delicious protein sources out there like nuts, hummus, and almond butter too!

    Anyway, I hope you keep up at least a couple of veg meals, and good luck with the transition back “to the dark side”! 😉

    I agree with the comment above too – the chickpeas look great. I’ll be sure to try them!

    Like

Leave a Reply

