Diet · food · Health

Vegan Diet, Day 29-30 – LAST DAYS! (with pictures!)

I really don’t know what to say, the last 30 days went by so fast and were much easier than I had originally anticipated. I didn’t notice any huge changes in my body/health, only some small ones such as: improved skin, nails and hair. I checked my blood pressure and it hadn’t changed either, it was actually a bit higher than when I had started. I’m not sure if it was accurate though because I had just finished a work out about 30 mins before and had just walked around the grocery store.

At this point, I’m not really sure what I want to do because one of the main reasons I started this diet was to improve my health and weight. I have about 35 pounds left to lose before I reach my goal weight. And I’ve only lost about 5 pounds while on this diet. The only time that I’ve ever seen the weight steadily drop was when I was eating low carb and working out consistently. Even when I was eating low calorie and working out, I hardly lost any weight.

I’m thinking I’ll do some variation of a low carb/vegan diet. Meaning that some meals will be vegan and may contain whole grains, while other meals will be low carb/high protein (mostly white meat). And I’ll keep my workouts to 5 days a week, at least 30 mins each session. I’m really going to work at getting back into running because that is when my body really began changing and I began losing inches off my belly – which is the main area I’m focused on.

I’ll continue to document my meals and exercise routine here and just share different tips and tricks I’ve learned. I’ve come so far and I’m more than half way to my goal. Once I reach my goal, I’ll have lost a total of 110 pounds! Which is a lot of weight! So I hope I can inspire someone. It’s taken me about 2 years so far to get to where I am and I hope to be at my goal within a year, I know it’s definitely possible!

Anyways, here is a yummy salad I ate a couple days ago:

This salad had a little bit of everything – tomatoes, olives, onions, gr. pepper, mushrooms, carrots, sprouts, sunflower seeds, sesame seeds, croutons, chia seeds and pepper with a red wine vinaigrette.

Here is a sneak peak at some low carb meals from my low carb diet I did during January-July 2011, lost 30 pounds during that 7 month period!

Low Carb Pizza made with a cauliflower pizza crust!

Steak with a mushroom/spinach sauce and asparagus

Chicken and tomatoes with green beans

Broccoli with chicken, bacon and cheese

Lasagna with zucchini “pasta”

Zucchini pancakes with an Italian chicken sausage

I just want to add a few things about the low carb part of this diet for this time around, I still will not be eating dairy, so I might make some of the things above but without cheese. Cheese and dairy are delicious but make me feel and look crappy, so that is one that that will not be coming back!

So, I know this blog took a big turn, but it was never really a vegan blog, it’s just a blog about my journey to complete health! So I’ll do what it takes to get there and share things along the way.

I am still open to vegan meal ideas and even some low carb/no dairy meal ideas!

2 thoughts on “Vegan Diet, Day 29-30 – LAST DAYS! (with pictures!)

  1. Wow! All this food looks delicious. Yum.

    Losing 75 pounds is a lot of weight! I think that is GREAT. Amazing! Yes, 110 is more, but I imagine your body loves being 75 pounds lighter. I am sure you will get to your goal. You definitely are an inspiration.

    Like

Leave a Reply

