Uncategorized

Nutritional Yeast or “Nooch”

When I first decided to begin following a vegan diet, I turned to blogs for ideas and recipes because I had no clue where to begin. To be honest, it was very overwhelming, there were no “vegan beginner” blogs. All I could find were blogs of people who had been eating this way for 5, 10, 20+ years and were very “experienced.”

One thing that I kept hearing a lot about was Nutritional Yeast and all I knew about it was that it had a cheesy flavor. This excited me because I missed cheese, like really missed it. I never did any research on it and until today, I still had no clue what it was! I found another blog with a whole post dedicated to Nutritional Yeast and after reading about it and the health benefits of it, I am even more excited to try it!

So, for all you beginners (vegan diet research stage, that’s what I call it!) out there, here is a great informational article by Fat Free Vegan Kitchen: What The Heck Is Nutritional Yeast

One thought on “Nutritional Yeast or “Nooch”

  1. Cool info! I never knew. I just thought it was the same as yeast used to make bread except with added nutrients. Thanks for the info. I can’t wait to buy some and try it and see what it adds. I really love cheese and I feel I could use to cut down on my cheese consumption. It would be nice to still have the “flavor” (or close to it) without the fat and calories. Cool! Thanks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

