Cooking · food · Gluten Free

Quinoa & Teriyaki Chicken

I have only had quinoa once before in my life and it was okay. I bought this package of roasted garlic quinoa awhile back and decided to try it as a side dish to my teriyaki chicken knowing it would be an interesting combination. Especially since I added spinach to my quinoa.

I’m not sure how I feel about it. I followed the directions exactly and the package said to cook it for about 15 minutes or until all the water is absorbed, well I checked it after 15 mins and there was still quite a bit of water left so I let it continue cooking, it went for about 30 mins and I was hungry so I just drained out the water. And yes, after 30 mins, there was still quite a bit of water. I’m not sure how it’s supposed to be, when I had it for the first time about a year ago, it was in a cold salad and it had a crunchy texture. This time around, it kinda reminded me of couscous, and it wasn’t crunchy.

Anyways, I don’t know if I will be making it again anytime soon, neither my husband or I were very impressed. But the chicken was good!

 

Can anyone tell me the proper way to prepare quinoa?

One thought on “Quinoa & Teriyaki Chicken

  1. Quinoa is a seed so it is still a little crunchy when cooked. I follow the directions on the package and I think the ones I’ve had cook really fast. I do think that I usually end up cooking it a little bit longer than the package but usually not TWICE as long. Maybe try less water next time. It is not my favorite side dish or addition to a meal, but I like it. It has a lot of protein, but it also has a lot more fat than other pastas or other side dishes. My friend made me a quinoa dish that I like so that is usually how I prepare it. (The recipe or the idea is on my blog.)

    Plus, I always end up spilling a bit and end up with those little seeds all over. (eyes rolling)

    Like

Leave a Reply

