Cooking · food · Gluten Free · Recipe

Jambalaya – Low Cal and Full of Flavor!

One of my favorite meals is Jambalaya, but it’s something I haven’t made in awhile due to the high fat and calorie content. I was really craving it and I had some chicken in the freezer and some chicken sausages in the fridge. So I looked up my recipe and added up the calories and made some modifications and got about 5 servings out of this for 272 calories per serving and only 7.5 grams of fat! (You can probably get more servings if you serve it with sides but my husband and I each had big servings and the calorie count was still low)

Here is MY recipe (serves 3):

1-2 chicken breasts (depending on their size)

3 andouille chicken sausages, sliced

1 onion, chopped

1 green pepper, chopped

1 red pepper, chopped

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 1/2 cups rice

1 14oz can tomatoes

3 cups chicken stock

S&P to taste (I used Johnny’s Seasoning Salt instead because it has paprika and garlic, I liked it better than just using salt and pepper)

Red pepper flakes, to taste (optional)

1-2 t Italian seasoning or to taste

1 t paprika

Brown chicken and add about half of all the seasonings to the chicken while it’s cooking. Add the sliced sausage to the chicken and cook until beginning to brown (chicken sausage is usually already fully cooked).Β  Add in the veggies and cook until they are slightly tender. Add in the broth and canned tomatoes (with juice) and bring to a boil. Add in the rice and turn heat to low and cook until rice is tender.

There are lots of leftovers, I’m excited for that!

One thought on “Jambalaya – Low Cal and Full of Flavor!

Leave a Reply

