Cooking · food · Recipe

Extra Moist Carrot Muffins

I made these for my husband today so he would have something to snack on while I’m at work. These were hard for me NOT to eat because I am not eating sugar or much carbs right now, I tried one though and it was delicious!

I adapted this recipe from several that I saw online to accommodate the ingredients I had on hand.

Sorry in advance for the blurry photos!

3 cups finely grated carrots (I used the carrot pulp from the carrot juice that we juiced earlier)

4 large eggs

2 cups whole wheat flour

2 t. baking powder

1 t. salt

2 t. ground cinnamon

1 t. vanilla

1 cup of light brown sugar, lightly packed

1 cup softened unsalted butter (if you use salted butter, leave out additional salt)

3/4 cup chopped almonds (optional)

Preheat oven to 325 F.

Mix flour, baking powder, salt and cinnamon together.

In a separate bowl, mix sugar, butter and vanilla together. Add eggs 1 at a time and mix well after each egg is added.

Gradually add flour mixture and make sure all ingredients are combined. Next, fold in the shredded carrots and nuts.

Divide into greased muffin tin and bake for about 20-25 minutes or until toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.

This made 12 muffins and I filled each one until they were very full.

If you make these, let me know, I’d like to know how they turned out for you!

One thought on “Extra Moist Carrot Muffins

Leave a Reply

