Cooking · food · Recipe

Twice Baked Mashed Cauliflower

 

Such an easy side dish to make! It’s creamy and cheesy with a yummy bacon flavor. It’s easy to make low cal too! Keep reading and I’ll tell you how below the recipe.

I don’t have measurements for this since I just kinda put it all together last minute.

Half bag of frozen cauliflower

About 1 T of full fat cream cheese

About 2 T of full fat sour cream

About 1/8 cup shredded cheddar cheese

About 4 T of the real bacon bits in the jar

1 chopped garlic clove

Seasoning salt or S&P (to taste)

I microwaved the cauliflower in a glass bowl for 5 minutes until it was soft. I then added the cream cheese, sour cream, shredded cheese, garlic and salt and mashed it together with a fork. Once it was all combined, I added the bacon. I baked it in the oven at 350F until it was hot and bubbling. Then I added a bit of shredded cheese and sprinkled some bacon on the top and baked it until the cheese was melted. I think it took about 15 minutes? I’m not really sure since I was in the kitchen the whole time cooking other things and just kept checking it.

(So to make this low-cal & low-fat, just use light or fat free cream cheese, sour cream and cheese. The real bacon bits from the jar are only 25 calories per T. So you’re good on that.)

It was SO good! I’ll be making it again and I think next time I’ll add green onions to it.

I had this with Buffalo Style Chicken Sausage pictured below. I took the picture from their website.

 

3 thoughts on “Twice Baked Mashed Cauliflower

  1. Wow, I just saw you post on my site, great minds think alike, I was even going to say that I thought it would be better with green onions 🙂 Yours looks prettier with some of the cheese on top, I will have to try that next time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

