Cooking · food · Recipe

Chicken Scampi Soup & Sugar Detox – Day 3

The detox is going well. The biggest adjustment I’ve had to make is drinking my coffee with cream only and no sweetener, that has been the hardest part. But I’m getting used to it!

I have not had any cravings, HALLELUJAH!

On day 3, I still had a bit of a headache and was feeling very tired and exhausted all day. That should be getting better soon! I hope…

I made soup for dinner last night, it was so good! My favorite meal at a popular Italian restaurant is Chicken Scampi and since I can’t have pasta, I made chicken scampi soup!

It tasted just like the sauce at the restaurant, but not as rich and creamy, a little more brothy… (is that even a word?!)

This is easy but I don’t have any measurements because I just kinda threw things in and tasted as I went along. But here are the basics:

Brown the chicken pieces in butter until golden brown and cooked all the way through then remove the chicken and set aside.

In the same pan, add garlic and sliced onions and cook until starting to turn translucent (but don’t burn the garlic!)

Add in some Italian seasoning

Add some chicken broth to deglaze the pan and scrape up the delicious bits from the bottom (this will give you a nice, rich base for the soup)

Add the chicken back in and splash in some heavy cream or half and half and sprinkle in some parmesan cheese.

Before serving add some sliced red and green peppers and let them simmer in the soup for a bit to combine all the flavors.

And there you have it – CHICKEN SCAMPI SOUP! Delicious! I want this for lunch 🙂

This would be really good with some chopped kale or some other kinds of greens for added nutrition!

3 thoughts on “Chicken Scampi Soup & Sugar Detox – Day 3

  1. Sounds yummy! I recently bought a “Julienne tool” that kind of looks like a potato peeler, but makes pasta sized julienne strips of Zucchini…I totally recommend it for those dishes that cry out for noodles like this one. Cost me $14 (US) at Bed Bath and Beyond.

    Like

Leave a Reply

