Cooking · food · Recipe

Comforting Low-Carb Beef Chili/Stew/Soup

I’m not sure what to call this. Just as I usually do, I put things in the pot that I thought would taste good and this is the result of that!

It started by me making my husband my recipe for crock-pot chili. I don’t eat beans but really wanted chili, so I reserved some of the meat for myself.

I started by browning beef stew meat in a pan until it was nice and dark and browned and crispy on the edges. Then I poured in some chicken broth to deglaze the pan. I would’ve used beef broth, but chicken was all I had. Anyways, I love deglazing pans, it makes the richest most flavorful sauces!

After I deglazed the pan, I put in some seasoning salt, garlic powder and red pepper flakes cause I like things spicy! I let that simmer away for a few hours until the meat was really tender and falling apart. After that, I put in some chopped onions and tomatoes, chili powder and cumin and some cooked lean ground beef, because there was not already enough meat, duh! 😉

I let it cook a bit longer until the onions were soft and then took the lid off and cranked up the heat to reduce the sauce until it was nice and thick! It ended up being really rich so I added some water to dilute it just a bit. Taste as you go and customize it the way you like it.

I had it with a little sour cream, chopped raw onion, sprinkle of cheese and an almond flour biscuit!

DELISH!

Leave a Reply

