Cooking · food · Recipe

Whole 30 Day 1 – Creamy Chicken Curry Soup

Day 1 was pretty successful! I stuck to the rules and feel really good! Just a couple detox side effects but they are not the kind that are fun to talk about so I won’t talk about them! πŸ™‚

Meals during the day were boring and will probably stay that way, I just don’t have time during the day to cook or be really creative so I save that for dinner. For breakfast, I had eggs and sausage. For lunch, some rotisserie chicken and a pear. I drank lots of hot green tea and water throughout the day.

For dinner, I made this!

20130101_194403

So delicious and fresh tasting!

I started by lightly cooking a chopped onion in a little olive oil/coconut oil combo, then added 2 heaping T of yellow curry powder. Then added one box of organic, low sodium chicken broth (about 4 cups). Then added one cup of unsweetened, unflavored coconut milk.

To the broth, I added one chopped red pepper, 2 chopped roma tomatoes, 3 green onions, chopped cilantro (I like a lot so I put a lot), about 2 cups of sugar snap peas, 1 T minced garlic, salt, pepper and red pepper flakes to taste.

After that had cooked awhile, I added 1 whole roasted spaghetti squash (strands only).

Served with 1/2 an avocado and some roasted spaghetti squash seeds on top. Delish!

20130101_193830 20130101_193346

3 thoughts on “Whole 30 Day 1 – Creamy Chicken Curry Soup

  1. I just finished day 11 and have some leftover chicken bones from a roasted chicken I was thinking of turning into broth. I’m totally going to now so I can try this recipe! Looks great. Thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

