Cooking · food · Health

Dairy-Free, Grain-Free Pancakes! (And a Whole30 Update)

I have to admit that I cheated on the Whole30 – kinda. Well, technically. The whole30 doesn’t approve of making whole30 versions of foods such as pancakes and pizza and stuff like that, even if the ingredients are whole30 approved. The reason is because the whole point of the Whole30 is to change your relationship with food and the way you use it and the way you see it. A lot of people turn to food for comfort instead of looking at it as fuel for your body. By now, (since I’ve been “rediscovering” my relationship with food for years) I’m pretty much past using food for comfort.

Now, I’m not opposed to a “treat” every now and then! Chocolate never hurt anyone!

Anyways, I made coconut flour pancakes for breakfast because honestly, eggs are getting boring and I’m tired of eating the same thing I ate for dinner, for breakfast. So I used whole30 approved ingredients and had some pancakes with sausage. And it was good, a nice change.

I used coconut flour, coconut milk, cinnamon, vanilla, baking soda and eggs in the “batter” and cooked them in some coconut oil.

This is not the prettiest looking picture but they turned out pretty good!

20130122_095738

 

Whole30 Update: So far, cutting dairy and gluten out of my diet have made a huge impact on me and the way I feel – mentally, physically and emotionally! I’m able to work out longer and harder at the gym, sleep better and have a clearer mind. It’s been nice and I don’t plan on bringing dairy or gluten back into my life anytime soon! One of the biggest changes I’ve noticed since January 1st is NO HEADACHES! I used to get mild headaches almost daily and painkillers did not make them go away. I haven’t had a headache since before the New Year, it’s pretty amazing! Also, I don’t get stomach aches anymore and my digestive system seems to be working pretty good now, probably TMI, but it’s true and I feel great! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Dairy-Free, Grain-Free Pancakes! (And a Whole30 Update)

  1. I am about to start a whole 30 and just found your blog. I feel like I might have the same approach… I think the ‘no cheating’ thing will cause me a lot of anxiety. I want to be able to have a treat if I want, then go back to eating whole 30 stuff.

    Like

Leave a Reply

