Diet · Health · Inspiration

Whole30 Wrap Up!

finished-the-Whole30-FB-Cover-Photo

The whole30 ended yesterday. And I am glad! That doesn’t mean I’m just going to go out and start eating all the things I didn’t eat on the whole30, like gluten, grains, beans, dairy, sugar, etc…

I’ve noticed a few positive changes this last month. Some might be TMI, but I think it’s important to share them for other people that are interested in trying this and might be experiencing some of the same health problems I was before I started the whole30.

Here are some of the health problems I had (or indications of something not right):

  • Snoring loudly
  • Acne, dull, rough skin
  • Irregular menstrual cycles
  • Headaches (almost daily)
  • Stomachaches (almost daily)
  • Skin hurt to touch (felt like all of my skin was bruised)
  • No energy
  • Trouble Sleeping

Here are the results of those things during and after the whole30 (I noticed all of these things change within the first week):

  • Snoring loudly – I’ll have to double check with my husband but I think it’s better!
  • Acne, dull, rough skin – For the most part, it’s better. My skin is also brighter and much more smooth. I only get a tiny break out from PMS, before it was 24/7.
  • Irregular menstrual cycles – This started after my miscarriage last May, before that I always had 28 day cycles. Since I started the whole30, I’ve had a regular cycle with regular ovulation! This might not sound like a big deal, but for someone wanting to have babies, it’s HUGE!
  • Headaches – what headaches? They are no more!
  • Stomachaches – same as headaches, no more!
  • Skin hurt – not anymore!!! (It’s hard to explain what this felt like, it was mostly my upper arms, if you applied any kind of pressure or just rubbed them, they hurt, it felt pretty much exactly like a giant bruise)
  • No energy – I have tons now! Working out is a lot more fun because I can do more and I don’t get pooped as easily!
  • Trouble Sleeping – There were a couple nights that were rough but I blame that on stress. For the most part, I noticed more mornings where I woke up feeling refreshed and ready for the day which tells me I slept pretty darn good. Before the whole30, waking up was hard, I didn’t want to get up, and I felt groggy most of the day.

And I lost some weight this last month, between 10-15 pounds. The last 5 pounds fluctuates which doesn’t really bother me. I try not to focus all my attention on the scale, but more on how I feel and how my clothes fit.

I have to be honest, if I said I didn’t cheat once, I’d be lying. There were a couple days, probably 3-4 where I had food that was not whole30 approved. According to the whole30 team, they’d say that I didn’t do the whole30 because there is absolutely NO cheating allowed on the whole30 which is something I don’t really like.

I might do it again though, sometime down the road. And I’m definitely going to be following a paleo way of eating from here on out because through all of this, I know one thing for sure. My body doesn’t like diary, gluten or grains! And I’ll probably enjoy a more natural form of sugar now and then but none of the white or fake sugars. That stuff is yuck.

Overall, I’d say the whole30 was beneficial to me, there were things I disliked and things I liked. I definitely recommend it though! It’s a great way to discover foods that you might have an intolerance too and didn’t even know it! It’s also a great way to get your health back on track and to rid your body of the nasty things it’s been holding onto. And it’s only 30 days! And it’s not as difficult as you might think it is.

3 thoughts on “Whole30 Wrap Up!

Leave a Reply

