Cooking · food · Health

Whole30 Day 1 – Roasted Broccoli and Cauliflower (Recipe)

This is my second time doing the whole30 so I think it will go a little better this time.

I started my day with eggs and sausage for breakfast (which is already a normal breakfast for me). But instead of coffee with sugar and cream, I had hot green tea and water.

Lunch was some summer sausage slices, mini bell peppers, an apple, and pickles plus water.

Dinner was yummy! One of our favorites, Italian Porketta (which is an Italian style pulled pork), roasted broccoli and cauliflower and guacamole. (And water!) Skip to below the picture for the recipe!

I also had some decaf espresso with unsweetened almond milk. And some more hot tea before bed. Day 1 was a SUCCESS! (I started experiencing my first detox symptom: a headache that started around 2pm and has NOT gone away, but I’m drinking lots of water hoping to flush it out!)

facebook_1004802999

Roasted Broccoli and Cauliflower

I used about a half bag of each frozen broccoli and cauliflower. Let it defrost in a colander so that the water drains out.

Once it was defrosted, I added the broccoli and cauliflower to a bowl and added a bit of olive oil, just enough to coat, not so much that there is a pool at the bottom of the bowl. I also added some lemon pepper, salt, black pepper and garlic powder.

Bake on stoneware at 400 degrees for about 15 mins or until starting to turn brown, I turned some of the pieces over a couple times.

Quick tip, I put my stoneware in the oven while it’s preheating, if not this will take longer to bake because the stoneware takes longer to heat up then a regular cookie sheet.

Leave a Reply

