food · Recipe

Balsamic Marinated Tomato and Onion Salad Topped Burgers

20130916_203801

One of my best friends, Becky, gave me some fresh home grown tomatoes and as I’m sure you know, there is nothing better than ripe tomatoes straight from the garden! They are deep red, juicy, sweet and not acidic at all!

I washed them up, ate one, then chopped the rest into bite sized pieces and threw ’em in a bowl. I wasn’t really sure what I wanted to do with them at that point. So I drizzled them with olive oil and S&P. That is my most favorite way to eat tomatoes!

I knew I wanted burgers (bunless, of course) for dinner and I thought these tomatoes will be perfect on top of my burger. And I had to have onions too, since I love onions! So I thinly sliced an onion and added it to the tomatoes, splashed in some balsamic vinegar and mixed everything together and let it chill in the fridge for a couple hours. The balsamic breaks down the onions just a little and brings out their sweetness, perfect combo!

The burgers are simple, here are the ingredients: BEEF, S&P

That’s it! I pan fried them in a bit of olive oil until they were totally cooked through. I topped mine with a bit of mayo and a big helping of the tomato salad. It was AMAZING! Oh, and definitely don’t forget to spoon out some of the liquid from the salad and pour it all over the burgers, the meat soaks up the juice and makes it taste so good!

Served with brussels and caramelized onions, but those definitely weren’t as good as the burgers. Yummmmm!!!

Leave a Reply

