food

Paleo Sweet Potato Chili

I’m currently on Day 3 of my whole30 which I am doing with a bunch of other bloggers over at du Plooy Duo. I love doing these every couple months to kinda reset my body and digestive system. It’s a great way to feel better overall! I still eat mostly paleo in between but it’s nice to kinda step back and see what kinds of nutrients our bodies really need. I’m loving it so far!

Here is what we had for dinner last night:

IMG_20131002_174547

 

Mine turned out to be more like a soup than it did chili, just meaning it was not as thick as chili usually is. But, it was still delicious! Here is the recipe, adapted from The Lucky Penny Blog:

1 pound ground beef
1/2 onion, chopped
1 white sweet potato, peeled and diced small
1 14 oz can petite diced tomatoes
2 green onions, chopped
2 cups beef stock
2 teaspoons dried garlic
2 teaspoons chili powder (I didn’t add this, because of personal preference)
1 teaspoon dried onion flakes
1 teaspoon sea salt

My recipe is a little different than the original because I didn’t have all the ingredients on hand and because I forgot to add some, I didn’t look at the recipe, mostly made it from memory. Which obviously, you shouldn’t do. But it still turned out delicious!

I made mine in the crock pot, let it go on low for about 6-7 hours, until the potatoes were soft and the flavors were delicious.

Just brown the meat with the spices until it’s mostly cooked, then add it to the crock with the rest of the ingredients! Simple as that!

We each had two servings, it was just so good and there is only a tiny bit left. I put it in my freezer for one of those days I need something quick to warm up.

Leave a Reply

