food

Sun-Dried Tomato and Feta Chicken Meatballs

I have made different variations of these in the years past and they always come out tasting amazing! I’ve made them with fresh basil, sun-dried tomatoes and fennel. I’ve also used fresh parsley instead of basil and they still come out amazing. This time, I’m adding feta cheese. I don’t consume much dairy, hardly any at all actually but feta is one of my favorite cheeses, it’s just so good! And I think they will go along so well with these meatballs.

IMG_20131106_151458

Love those colors!!IMG_20131106_195746

Here’s the recipe:

1 pound lean ground chicken

1/4 cup chopped sun-dried tomatoes (I used dried, I don’t really care much for the ones packed in oil)

1/4 cup crumbled feta cheese

Small onion, finely chopped or grated

2 cloves garlic, finely chopped or pressed (or if you’re like me, 3 giant cloves of garlic)

1 egg

S&P to taste

1 T dried basil or 20 fresh basil leaves, rolled and cut into thin strips (Optional – It’s good with or without! I ended up using parsely)

Roll into 1 1/2 inch meatballs and place on stoneware or nonstick baking tray, brush with olive oil or canola oil and bake at 400 degrees for 10-12 minutes.

*Baking time will depend on size of meatballs

Leave a Reply

