Spaghetti and Meat Sauce (Paleo, Whole30)

I’m on day 5 of this whole30 and this time around, I’ve given up all fruits for the first 2 weeks. In whole30’s past, I don’t feel that I really conquered my sugar cravings because I always gave into them with a piece of fruit. This time, that’s going to change! To read some awesome reviews of how the whole30 has helped or cured just about every ailment from acne, autism, behavioral issues in kids to candida overgrowth to PCOS to Vitiligo (with many more in between, I’m always amazed when reading these), click here!

Also, my skin (acne, eczema) has gotten pretty bad between this whole30 and the last, probably because of the amount of sugar I’ve been consuming. Other than that, everything has been good – weight stayed the same, still sleeping good, exercising as much as I could, etc.

This year, I’ve made a decision that this will be the year to get to my goal weight! I realized that I don’t have that much more to lose so it shouldn’t be that difficult or even take the whole year. I’m not sure why I always thought that I still have a ton of weight to lose, when looking at how far I’ve come, there really isn’t that much at all!

Last night we had spaghetti and meat sauce for dinner! Spaghetti squash of course! It was delicious, we had the leftovers for lunch today which were even better. I think I found the only marinara sauce in the store without any added sugar or weird ingredients. I think it was the Classico brand and the roasted garlic flavor. All the other jarred pasta sauce had added sugar and some strange ingredients.

Anyways, here’s the recipe-ish:

“Noodles”:

Oven to 375

2 medium spaghetti squash (extra for leftovers – duh!)

Olive oil

S&P

Slice the squash in half length wise, use a sharp knife and be careful! This will take some muscle.

Scoop out the seeds

Brush some olive oil on the surface

Sprinkle on S&P

Place them cut side up on a foiled (or not, but do this for easy clean up) baking sheet

Bake for about 45 minutes or until tender and you can “pull strands” from the squash with a fork

Let cool for a bit so you can pull the strands easier

Sauce:

1 jar no sugar added pasta sauce

1 pound sausage (any kind, or beef, or pork, or whatever you want!)

1 tsp dried sage

1 tsp dried basil

1 Tbls whole30 pesto

1 medium onion chopped

Begin by browning sausage

Add chopped onion and spices plus pesto

Stir around until onion begins turning a bit translucent

Add sauce and simmer for about 2 hours

The leftovers the next day are even better, so good!

4 thoughts on “Spaghetti and Meat Sauce (Paleo, Whole30)

Leave a comment