Vegan Diet, Day 1 & 2 (Photo)

I have to share the exciting news first! I’ve already lost one pound, just in one day! Hopefully this keeps up 🙂

I was pretty excited to get started today and had a pineapple, strawberry, banana smoothie for breakfast with some caffeine-free chai rooibos tea. I didn’t have much time for lunch so I just cooked up some oatmeal and added a bit of brown sugar.

Once again, I didn’t have a lot of time for dinner as I had spent most of the day working and then grocery shopping.

Dinner was garlic fries and veggie sausage…

For snacks, I had some peanuts and a slice of organic cinnamon raisin bread.

I am a little disappointed that I didn’t get to make the things that I wanted to make and that resulted in a not so healthy day.

Overall, I felt pretty great today besides the caffeine withdraws I’m still going through, Taps said he also felt good, in fact, he said that he already feels “healthy.”

That was day 1.

Day 2 (today) will hopefully be a little more successful!

For breakfast I had a potato bagel with strawberry jam and then for a snack I had half a pretzel bagel.

For lunch I made Creamy Avocado Pasta which was amazing and filling, the recipe serves 2 so I halved it and it was plenty!

For snacks, I had a tomato sprinkled with a little salt, lots of water and some orange juice.

I’ll probably post pictures of dinner either later tonight or tomorrow.

Someday soon, I want to make Johnnycakes, I found a great recipe and I have all the ingredients and they look delicious!

I also found a great recipe for Vegetarian Eggrolls by challahgirl which I’m hoping to try soon too.

12 thoughts on “Vegan Diet, Day 1 & 2 (Photo)

      • challahgirl says:

        Okay because I really want you to succeed (Somehow I have a vested interest in this? I’m weird.) — I’m commenting on your blog – again! Last one today – maybe.

        If you have time, you have to check out this girl’s blog – She really is an Awesome Vegan Girl.

        This link is just filled to the brim with yummy looking vegan foods – Homemade vegan flour tortillas and vegan butter-cream icing among others!

        http://www.tatianacochran.com/

        Like

  1. onmywaytohealth says:

    I really want to succeed too and it’s very encouraging to know that someone else wants me too also!

    I’m definitely checking her blog out, I’m always looking for some awesome new vegan recipes!

    Like

  2. thunder2toned says:

    How much garlic did you use? I might give it a go as I’m vegetarian and always looking for new ideas. I had a quick glance at the recipe and it sounds like quite a lot of raw garlic so just wondering how much you opted for.

    Like

    • onmywaytohealth says:

      I really love garlic so I used 2 cloves, I think the original recipe calls for 3 and I halved this recipe but still wanted it to have a strong garlic flavor. It was perfect with 2 cloves, but if you aren’t as into garlic as I am then I think using 1 clove would be just fine 🙂

      Like

  3. Spiral says:

    If you want to be healthy as a Vegan, it’s not just about avoiding certain foods… you really need to plan your nutrients and meals. There should be fruits or vegetables in every meal so you get your vitamins and minerals. Green leafy vegetables are super important. Vegetables need to make up a large portion of your diet, as do seeds, nuts and legumes. Carbs should make up the rest but not be the main ingredient. It gets easy to make tabouli and salads or wilt some spinach and fried mushrooms and throw them into every meal. Simple side dishes will keep your vitamin and mineral levels up.

    Good luck!

    P.S. I actually found it harder to lose weight as a vegan because I was eating less protein and more carbs and not enough vegetables (I’m a Blood type O). I haven’t read your blog but I think it’s brave to try something different and I hope you find it rewarding and that you reap the benefits 🙂

    Like

    • onmywaytohealth says:

      Thanks for the tips! I have always been very into veggies and fruits and I find a way to incorporate them into every meal. I knew starting a Vegan Diet wouldn’t be super difficult for me because I already love very healthy foods, I know that I get more than the daily recommendation for fruits and veggies so I’m not too worried about lacking nutrients, I’m even more aware of it now than before 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment