Vegan Diet, Day 4

Everything is going better than expected and much easier than anticipated. I’m not sure if that’s because I am away from my family and friends and so I don’t have to deal with the temptations of them eating meat and dairy. It’s just me and Taps so we can encourage and support each other. It might get harder when we move back to where our family and friends are. But either way, I’ll have a good head start on this thing so when we move home in a couple months then hopefully meat and dairy products won’t appeal to me anymore and that would make things even easier! But we’ll see…

Breakfast was another delicious smoothie consisting of pineapple, banana, blueberries, spinach, almond milk and flax oil. It was yummy and satisfying as always. I don’t know why I can’t get away from having pineapple and banana in each smoothie I make. I know that I like the banana because it makes the smoothie creamy and almost like a milkshake and I read somewhere that pineapple naturally helps with bloating so I think that’s why I like it and they just taste good.

Lunch was simple, I got a tortilla and put some hummus, spinach and sauteed peppers and onions and ate it just like that. I also added some garlic, salt, pepper, and red pepper flakes to the peppers and onions because I love spicy foods and I like to put red pepper flakes in just about anything! So here’s the picture from lunch… ( I actually ate two of these cause they were SO good and I was starving!)

Dinner was pretty easy too, a lot of times, I look for something quick and easy to cook just because there is not a lot of time in the evenings. So we had “burgers and fries” and there are two different pictures for this one because we both had different burgers. The first picture is my boyfriends burger, it was simple with sauteed eggplant, marinara, and the Original Vegan Boca Burger on a “buttered”  (earth balance), toasted organic whole wheat bun with avocado and tomatoes on the side with sweet potato fries (dang, that was a mouth full!).

Mine was really not much different, I tried eggplant on my burger but I couldn’t even taste it so I probably won’t do that next time. But one of my favorite things to put on a burger is avocado so I put lots of that on along with onion and tomato and mine was also on the same kind of bun. And those sweet potato fries are so amazing! I never used to like sweet potatoes but I think I just might really love them now!

Then we had a few bites of some Cherry Chocolate Chip soy ice cream from Trader Joe’s for dessert and it was perfect! But I don’t have a picture of that, sorry!

6 thoughts on “Vegan Diet, Day 4

  1. Hina says:

    Congratulations- it sounds like you’re doing really well on your vegan journey! Great photos and descriptions of delicious foods that are easy to make. Good luck to you on the rest of your journey:-)

    I agree that sweet potato fries are amazing. And have you tried a portobella mushroom burger- also fantastic!

    Like

  2. catapultdavid says:

    Congrats on your journey. I’m not prepared to go vegan, or even vegetarian, but am definitely moving very close to that. I gave up sodas/caffeine/etc. and noticed a huge difference in my blood pressure and all. Most odd was a deep ache in the legs/thighs for several days. Not sure why the body reacted that way, but it’s done it on two occasions. This time I’m done for good. Best of luck, and those recipes look GREAT – can’t wait to finish my juice fast and try some!

    Like

    • onmywaytohealth says:

      I’ve had some deep aches in my right thigh/leg also, but not in my left. It’s very strange and I can’t find anything online about it! Maybe it’s just the caffeine leaving the muscle or the body detoxing or something. It’s more painful at night than anything else. It seems to be getting a bit better though.

      Like

Leave a comment