Finally Caught Up! (& FOOD!)

So things around here finally seem to be getting back to normal. With all the craziness, I haven’t really been focusing on my diet like I should be so I am getting back into that!

I am now 100% sure the cause of my many years of acne, it’s DAIRY! I know this because when I did the vegan diet, my skin completely cleared up more than it had ever been, during the move and the process of getting settled, I started eating dairy and I broke out like crazy! I went back off of it and my skin cleared back up, in just a matter of days!

I’m very happy and relieved to finally know the cause, and I’m also trying not to be bitter towards the countless number of dermatologists and doctors I’ve seen and the countless number of pills and creams I’ve tried. If you suffer from acne, I highly recommend going off dairy!

Okay, onto the food! So I’m back to my no/little dairy, no red meat, low carb diet and tonight I made:

Sun-Dried Tomato and Basil Chicken Meatballs with a simple salad and sauteed zucchini

These were so amazing and easy to make, I used fresh basil which makes all the difference in the world! The salad dressing was goddess dressing from Trader Joe’s and yes, there is feta cheese on my salad but that’s the only dairy I had all today and probably will be the only dairy I have for the next week. The zucchini is seasoned with olive oil, parsely and basil. It didn’t need any salt at all.

Here are a couple other things I made during the last month:

Zucchini “pasta” with meatballs and marinara and Parmesan cheese

Baked fish with herbs and butter, sweet potato fries and asparagus

If you guys ever want the recipe for anything I make, then please let me know! I’d love to share it with you!

-Amanda

2 thoughts on “Finally Caught Up! (& FOOD!)

  1. terrepruitt says:

    I understand your “trying not to be bitter towards the countless number of dermatologists and doctors I’ve seen and the countless number of pills and creams I’ve tried”. It is so sad that so many doctors don’t acknowledge and/or are not trained on how diet affects our bodies. There is even a commercial on TV in my area (I don’t know if it is all over) that says what you eat has nothing to do with acne it is hormones. That is saying that our food doesn’t affect our hormones and it does.

    I am happy for you that you have found relief.

    I would love the Sun-Dried Tomato and Basil Chicken Meatballs recipe. You made them?

    Like

    • onmywaytohealth says:

      There is a commercial in my area that says the same things! It’s like how can food NOT affect our hormones, I wonder how they can get away with things like that?

      The recipe is actually my mom’s recipe, but I made them for dinner the other night, I’m not sure why I haven’t made them before because they are SOOOO good!

      1.5 pounds ground chicken (I used 1 pound chicken, .5 pounds turkey)
      1 T grill seasoning
      1 t fennel seeds
      1/4 cup sun dried tomatoes (chopped)
      20 fresh basil leaves (chopped)
      2-3 cloves garlic (depending on size and how much you like garlic)

      Then you roll them into balls, about 1.5 inches in diameter and bake on a cookie sheet at 400 degrees for about 10-15 minutes.

      I used stoneware to cook them on and it took about 20 minutes to cook and I moved them around after about 10 minutes, I’m not sure if it was because of the stoneware or my oven. So I’d start with 10-15 minutes and then check them.

      They are really good in some marinara sauce or with any kind of sauce you like, but I prefer them to be plain because I like to taste the basil 🙂

      Let me know how they turn out!

      Like

Leave a comment