Carnitas! (Whole30 Approved)

I’m going to try to be more active on my blog and share more recipes with you, it helps keep me more accountable!

Anyways, I made carnitas in my crock pot the other day. If I had known they were this easy to make, I would’ve done it a hundred times before! So tasty!

IMG_20130809_201324

Here are the ingredients:

3 pounds pork loin, cut into large pieces

1/2 cup fresh orange juice

Juice from 2-3 limes

Generous amount of salt and pepper

About 2 t cumin

4-5 garlic cloves

Place all the ingredients in the crock pot on low for 6-7 hours.

We had this with some fresh pico de gallo, homemade guacamole and fresh lime wedges on the side.

My other eats for the day included:

Breakfast – White sweet potato hash with eggs, peppers & onions, sausage

Lunch – All natural chicken sausage hot dog with raw carrots, cucumbers and some cashews

Drinks – Lots of water, iced green tea, iced coffee with almond milk

After dinner snack – Fresh cantaloupe

7 thoughts on “Carnitas! (Whole30 Approved)

  1. Jennie says:

    Boil down the liquid in the crock pot until there is about 1 cup left, toss the pieces back in to the liquid, spread the whole shebang on a baking sheet and broil until browned and crispy, about 8 minutes each side.

    Like

  2. Melisa says:

    What do you think I could use instead of the orange juice? I need low carb, I’m on a keto diet, but I REALLY want to try carnitas.

    Like

Leave a comment